Piers Mackesy

Piers Mackesy was a British military historian who taught at the University of Oxford. Earning his D. Phil at Oriel College, Oxford, he taught at Pembroke College, Oxford until his retirement in 1988. He was elected a fellow in the British Academy in 1988.

Books in order of publication:

The War in the Mediterranean, 1803-1810 – 1957

The War for America, 1775-1783 – 1964

Statesmen at War: The Strategy of Overthrow, 1798-1799 – 1974

The Coward of Minden: The Affair of Lord George Sackville – 1979

War Without Victory: The Downfall of Pitt, 1799-1802 – 1984

British Victory in Egypt: The End of Napoleon’s Conquest – 1995

%d bloggers like this: