Richard Flanagan

Richard Miller Flanagan (born 1961) is an Australian writer, “considered by many to be the finest Australian novelist of his generation”, according to The Economist. Each of his novels has attracted major praise and received numerous awards and honours. He also has written and directed feature films. He won the 2014 Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

The New York Review of Books described Flanagan as “among the most versatile writers in the English language. That he is also an environmental activist and the author of numerous influential works of nonfiction makes his achievement more remarkable.”

Books in order of publication:


  • Death of a River Guide (1994)
  • The Sound of One Hand Clapping (1997)
  • Gould’s Book of Fish: A Novel in Twelve Fish (2001)
  • The Unknown Terrorist (2006)
  • Wanting (2008)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (2013)
  • First Person (2017)
  • The Living Sea of Waking Dreams (2020)


  • (1985) A Terrible Beauty: History of the Gordon River Country
  • (1990) The Rest of the World Is Watching: Tasmania and the Greens (co-editor)
  • (1991) Codename Iago: The Story of John Friedrich (co-writer)
  • (1991) “Parish-Fed Bastards”: A History of the Politics of the Unemployed in Britain, 1884–1939.
  • (2011) And What Do You Do, Mr Gable?
  • (2015) Notes on an Exodus
  • (2018) Seize the Fire: Three Speeches
%d bloggers like this: