Richard James Overy

Richard James Overy is a British historian who has published extensively on the history of World War II and the Third Reich.

Educated at Caius College, Cambridge and awarded a research fellowship at Churchill College, Professor Overy taught history at Cambridge from 1972 to 1979, as a fellow of Queens’ College and from 1976 as a university assistant lecturer. In 1980 he moved to King’s College London, where he became professor of modern history in 1994. He was appointed to a professorship at the University of Exeter in 2004.

Books in order of publication:

William Morris, Viscount Nuffield (1976).

The Air War: 1939–1945 (1980).

The Nazi Economic Recovery, 1932–1938 (1982).

Goering: The “Iron Man” (1984).

All Our Working Lives (with Peter Pagnamenta, 1984).

The Origins of The Second World War edited by Patrick Finney, Edward Arnold: London, Hodder Education Publishers (1997), Third Edition (2008)

Co-written with Timothy Mason: “Debate: Germany, ‘Domestic Crisis’ and War in 1939” pp. 200–240 in Past and Present, Number 122, February 1989, reprinted as “Debate: Germany, ‘Domestic Crisis’ and the War in 1939” in The Origins of The Second World War (1997).

The Road To War (with Andrew Wheatcroft, 1989).

The Inter-War Crisis, 1919–1939 (1994).

War and Economy in the Third Reich (1994).

Why the Allies Won (1995).

The Penguin Historical Atlas of the Third Reich (1996).

The Times Atlas of the Twentieth Century (ed., 1996).

Bomber Command, 1939–45 (1997).

Russia’s War: Blood upon the Snow (1997).

The Times History of the 20th Century (1999).

The Battle (2000), (republished as The Battle of Britain: The Myth and the Reality).

Interrogations: The Nazi Elite in Allied Hands, 1945 (2001), (republished as Interrogations: Inside the Minds of the Nazi Elite).

Germany: A New Social and Economic History. Vol. 3: Since 1800 (ed. with Sheilagh Ogilvie, 2003).

The Times Complete History of the World (6th ed., 2004).

The Dictators: Hitler’s Germany and Stalin’s Russia (2004)

Collins Atlas of Twentieth Century History (2005).

Imperial War Museum’s Second World War Experience Volume 1: Blitzkrieg (2008).

Imperial War Museum’s Second World War Experience Volume 2: Axis Ascendant (2008).

1939: Countdown to War (2009).

The Morbid Age: Britain Between the Wars (2009).

The Bombing War: Europe 1939–1945 (2013), (later published as The Bombers and the Bombed: Allied Air War Over Europe, 1940–1945.

RAF: The Birth of the World’s First Air Force (2018).

Blood and Ruins: The Great Imperial War, 1931-1945 (2021).

%d bloggers like this: