Rick Riordan

He was born Richard Russell Riordan Jr. in San Antonio, Texas. He was born and raised in San Antonio, where he went to Alamo Heights high school. Riordan ended up graduating at the top of his class in 1982. He went to college, attending the University of Texas.

Riordan ended up moving to San Francisco, California. This is where he would begin a simple teaching job for a number of years before he started the journey into becoming one of the world’s most beloved authors.

His first novel was published in the late 1990s, and it was this series that started Rick on his way of becoming a successful author. The series he wrote was called Tres Navarres. The first book in the series was written in 1997, and the last was finished in 2008. There were a total of seven novels written in the series. The books are in the mystery genre, about a private eye in Texas that goes on many thrilling adventures. These books were written for adults.

Then, the critically acclaimed Percy Jackson series was the next to be written. The series currently has five books, with two graphic novels written after the five earlier books. He has written in over 30 books since beginning his career in the late 1990s, and has an anthology book series in the works for early 2015.

Books in order of publication:

Tres Navarre Books

Big Red Tequila(1997) 
The Widower’s Two-Step(1998) 
The Last King of Texas(2000) 
The Devil Went Down to Austin(2001) 
Mission Road(2005) 
Rebel Island(2007) 

Percy Jackson And The Olympians Books

The Lightning Thief(2005) 
The Sea of Monsters(2006) 
The Titan’s Curse(2007) 
The Battle of the Labyrinth(2008) 
The Last Olympian(2009) 
The Lightning Thief: Illustrated Edition(2018) 

Percy Jackson Collections

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods(2014)
Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes(2015) 

Percy Jackson Graphic Novels

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief(2010) 
Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters(2013) 
The Titan’s Curse(2014) 
The Battle of the Labyrinth(2018) 

Percy Jackson Non-Fiction Books

Demigods and Monsters(2008) 
The Demigod Files(2013) 
The Ultimate Guide(2010) 
Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods(2014) 
Demigods of Olympus(2015) 
Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes(2015) 
Camp Half-Blood Confidential(2017) 

39 Clues Books

The Maze of Bones(2008) 
Vespers Rising(2011) 

Kane Chronicles Books

The Red Pyramid(2010) 
The Throne of Fire(2011) 
The Serpent’s Shadow(2012) 

Kane Chronicles Graphic Novels

The Red Pyramid(2012) 

Kane Chronicles Non-Fiction Books

The Kane Chronicles Survival Guide(2012) 
Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual(2018) 

Heroes Of Olympus Books

The Lost Hero(2010) 
The Son of Neptune(2011) 
The Mark of Athena(2012) 
The Demigod Diaries(2012) 
The House of Hades(2013) 
The Blood of Olympus(2014) 

Carter Kane & Percy Jackson Short Stories

The Son of Sobek(2013) 
The Staff of Serapis(2014) 
Crown of Ptolemy(2015) 

Magnus Chase and The Gods Of Asgard Books

The Sword of Summer(2015) 
The Hammer of Thor(2016) 
The Ship of the Dead(2017) 
9 From the Nine Worlds(2018) 

Magnus Chase Non-Fiction Books

For Magnus Chase: Hotel Valhalla Guide to the Norse Worlds(2016)

Apollo Books

The Hidden Oracle(2016) 
The Dark Prophecy(2017) 
The Burning Maze(2018) 
The Tyrant’s Tomb(2019) 
The Tower of Nero(2020) 
Camp Jupiter Classified(2020) 

Standalone Novels

Cold Springs(2003)
%d bloggers like this: