Robert Vincent Remini

Robert Vincent Remini (July 17, 1921 – March 28, 2013) was an American historian and a professor emeritus at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He wrote numerous books about President Andrew Jackson and the Jacksonian era, most notably a three-volume biography of Jackson. For the third volume of Andrew Jackson, subtitled The Course of American Democracy, 1833-1845, he won the 1984 U.S. National Book Award for Nonfiction. Remini was widely praised for his meticulous research on Jackson and thorough knowledge of him. His books portrayed Jackson in a mostly favorable light, and he was sometimes criticized for being too partial towards his subject.

Remini also wrote biographies of other early 19th century Americans, namely Martin Van Buren, Henry Clay, Daniel Webster, John Quincy Adams, and Joseph Smith. He served as Historian of the United States House of Representatives from 2005 until 2010 and wrote a history of the House, which was published in 2006.

Martin Van Buren and the Making of the Democratic Party – 1959

Andrew Jackson – 1966

Andrew Jackson and the Bank War: A Study in the Growth of Presidential Power – 1967

Andrew Jackson: The Course of American Empire, 1767-1821 – 1977

Andrew Jackson: The Course of American Freedom, 1822-1832 – 1981

Andrew Jackson: The Course of American Democracy, 1833-1845 – 1984

The Life of Andrew Jackson – 1988

The Jacksonian Era – 1989

Henry Clay: Statesman for the Union – 1991

Daniel Webster: The Man and His Time – 1997

The Battle of New Orleans: Andrew Jackson and America’s First Military Victory – 1999

Andrew Jackson and His Indian Wars – 2001

Joseph Smith – 2002

John Quincy Adams – 2002

The House: The History of the House of Representatives – 2006

A Short History of the United States – 2008

At the Edge of the Precipice: Henry Clay and the Compromise That Saved the Union – 2010

%d bloggers like this: