Robert Westall

Robert Atkinson Westall (7 October 1929 – 15 April 1993) was an English author and teacher best known for fiction aimed at children and young adults. In the latter case, some deal with complex, dark and adult themes. He has been called “the dean of British war novelists”.  His first book, The Machine Gunners, won the 1975 Carnegie Medal for the year’s outstanding children’s book by a British subject. It was named one of the top ten Medal-winning works for the 70th anniversary celebration in 2007. Westall also won a second Carnegie (no one has won three), a Smarties Prize, and the once-in-a-lifetime Guardian Prize.

Books in order of publication:


The Machine Gunners (1975)

The Wind Eye (1976)

The Watch House (1977)

The Devil on the Road (1978)

Fathom Five (1979)

The Scarecrows (1981)

Break of Dark (1982)

Futuretrack Five (1983)

The Haunting of Chas McGill (1983)

The Cats of Seroster (1984)

Rachel and the Angel (1986)

The Creature in the Dark (1988)

Ghost Abbey (1988)

Ghosts and Journeys (1988)

Blitzcat (1989)

The Call and Other Stories (1989)

Old Man on a Horse (1989)

A Walk on the Wild Side (1989)

Echoes of War (1989)

Urn Burial (1989)

If Cats Could Fly (1990)

The Kingdom by the Sea (1990)

The Promise (1990)

Stormsearch (1990)

The Stones of Muncaster Cathedral (1991)

Yaxley’s Cat (1991)

Fearful Lovers (1992)

Gulf (1992)

Falling into Glory (1993)

A Place For Me (1993)

Size Twelve (1993)

The Wheatstone Pond (1993)

A Place to Hide (1994)

A Time of Fire (1994)

The Witness (1994)

Blitz (1995)

Christmas Spirit (1995)

The Night Mare (1995)

Blizzard (1996)

Harvest (1996)

Love Match (1997)

Voices in the Wind (1997)

David and the Kittens (2003)

Short fiction collections

Break of Dark (1982)

The Haunting of Chas McGill and Other Stories (1983)

Rachel and the Angel and Other Stories (1986)

Ghosts and Journeys (1988)

Antique Dust (1989)

The Call and Other Stories (1989) (a.k.a. The Call and Other Strange Stories, 2003)

The Stones of Muncaster Cathedral (1991) (a.k.a. In Camera and Other Stories, 1992)

Fearful Lovers and Other Stories (1992, a.k.a. Fearful Lovers 1993)

Demons and Shadows: The Ghostly Best of Robert Westall (1993) (a.k.a. The Best of Robert Westall: Volume One: Demons and Shadows, 1999)

Shades of Darkness: More of the Ghostly Best Stories of Robert Westall (1994) (a.k.a. The Best of Robert Westall: Volume Two: Shades of Darkness, 1999)

Christmas Spirit: Two Stories (1994)

Shadows of War (2019)


Children of the Blitz (1985)

The Making of Me (2006) (autobiographical)

%d bloggers like this: