Roddy Doyle

Roddy Doyle was born May 8, 1958 in the city of Dublin, Ireland, and he grew up in Kilbarrack with his middle class family. Ita Bolger Doyle, Doyle’s mother, was one of Maeve Brennan’s first cousins (who was a writer of short stories).

He got his Bachelor of Arts degree after attending University College Dublin. He taught English and geography for a few years before starting to write full time in the year 1993. In the year 2009, he and Sean Love founded a creative writing center called “Fighting Words”; it opened in January of 2009, in Dublin. Some personal notes and work books belonging to Roddy Doyle have been given to the National Library of Ireland.

Books in order of publication:

The Barrytown Trilogy Books

The Commitments(1987) 
The Snapper(1990) 
The Van(1991) 

Childrens Books

Not Just for Christmas(1999) 
Her Mother’s Face(2008) 

The Last Roundup Books

A Star Called Henry(1999) 
Oh, Play That Thing(2004) 
The Dead Republic(2010) 

Rover Adventures Trilogy Books

The Giggler Treatment(2000) 
Rover Saves Christmas(2001) 
The Meanwhile Adventures(2004) 
Rover and the Big Fat Baby(2018)

Standalone Novels

Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha (1993)  

The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (1996)  

Paula Spencer (2006)  

A Greyhound of a Girl (2011)  

The Guts (2013)  

Brilliant (2014)  

Smile (2017)  

Love (2020)

Short Stories/Novellas

Charlie Savage(2019)


Brownbread & War(1993) 
The Deportees(2007) 
Two Pints(2012) 
Two More Pints(2014) 
Two for the Road(2019) 
Life Without Children(2021)

Non-Fiction Books

Rory & Ita(2002) 
The Second Half (With: Roy Keane)(2014) 


New Writing From Ireland(1994) 
Yeats is Dead!(2001) 
Free?: Stories About Human Rights(2009) 
From the Republic of Conscience(2010) 
Beyond the Stars: Twelve Tales of Adventure, Magic and Wonder(2014)
%d bloggers like this: