Rose Tremain

Rose Tremain was born as Rosemary Jane Thomson on August 2, 1943, in London, U.K. Her great-grandfather, William Thomson, was the York Archbishop between 1862 and 1890. Tremain completed her schooling from the Francis Holland School and the Crofton Grange School. Later, she studied at Sorbonne and went on to earn her Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature from East Anglia University.

Rose Tremain is an award-winning English novelist and short story writer. She has written several novels in her career based on the magical realism, historical fiction, mystery, crime, suspense, cultural, and literary fiction genres.

Tremain’s books have helped her win some prestigious literary awards, including the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Baileys Women’s Prize, the Prix Femina Etranger, the Orange Prize, the Giles Cooper Award, the Whitbread Award, etc. Her novel, Restoration, was nominated for the Booker Prize.

Books in order of publication:

Restoration Books


Standalone Novels

Letter to Sister Benedicta(1978) 
The Cupboard(1981) 
Journey To The Volcano(1985) 
The Swimming Pool Season(1985) 
Sadler’s Birthday(1991) 
Sacred Country(1995) 
The Way I Found Her(1997) 
Music & Silence(1999) 
The Colour(2003) 
The Road Home(2007) 
The Gustav Sonata(2016) 
Islands of Mercy(2020) 


The Colonel’s Daughter and Other Stories(1987) 
Evangelista’s Fan and Other Stories(1994) 
Collected Short Stories(1996) 
The Darkness of Wallis Simpson(2005) 
The Garden Of The Villa Mollini And Other Stories(2011) 
The American Lover(2014)

Non-Fiction Books

Friendship (2018)

Rosie (2018)

%d bloggers like this: