Rosemary Rowe

Publication Order of Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain Books

The Germanicus Mosaic(1999) 
A Pattern of Blood(2000) 
Murder in the Forum(2001) 
The Chariots of Calyx(2002) 
The Legatus Mystery(2003) 
The Ghosts of Glevum(2004) 
Enemies of the Empire(2005) 
A Roman Ransom(2006) 
A Coin for the Ferryman(2007) 
Death at Pompeia’s Wedding(2008) 
Requiem For A Slave(2010) 
The Vestal Vanishes(2011) 
A Whispering of Spies(2012) 
Dark Omens(2013) 
The Fateful Day(2014) 
The Ides of June(2016) 
The Price of Freedom(2017) 

Rosemary Rowe profile

Rosemary Aitken is an English author born Rosemary Rowe in the British town Of Penzance, Cornwall during World War II. She is best known for the writing of several historical, mystery, romance, academic books and publications over the years. She moved to New Zealand with her parents while she was still a girl and would go to school and later get married before moving back to Britain in 1967. Aitken is a highly qualified academic professional having graduated from Sydney and Wellington Universities in addition to a diploma in Educational Management from Bristol, a Teaching Diploma she obtained from the Auckland Training College, LTCL’s in Speech, Drama, and TESOL, and an RSA Diploma in TEFL. She spent more than two decades in Higher Education and published twelve textbooks on communication and the English Language. After many years lecturing and living in Gloucestershire, she moved back to her native home county of Cornwall, where she lives in the woods near the Fal and Truro. She is mother to two children who have given her four grandchildren in New Zealand and Cambridge shire.

Before she became a full time writer, she worked as a secondary school teacher, lecturer, and teacher trainer in Cheltenham England. She was also a senior lecturer, moderator and examiner at Trinity College in London where she taught the ESOL program. She was also a consultant for several schools and colleges in Singapore, Dubai, and the United Kingdom. She first got started writing fiction when she was involved in an industrial accident that made it impossible for her to continue her academic career. Nonetheless, most of her teaching guides and textbooks were written before she was injured. As Rosemary Aitken she wrote the historical romance cum whodunit novels in the Cornish Saga series of novels. The series of novels are set in an imaginary Cornish village in Medieval Britain. As Rosemary Rowe, she has written the Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain series of novels set in the Glevum a Roman town that is the modern day Gloucester. In addition to her bestselling fictional works she is the writer of several award winning poems and plays and has written a bestselling handbook on the procedure of writing a novel.

Rosemary Aitken series of novels in the Cornish Saga are about the residents of Penvarris who lived at a time when the settled life of Europe was rudely interrupted by World War I. The uncertainties of the early 20th century are disrupted when the Cornish family suddenly find themselves torn apart by war. The novels are melodramatic yet socially conscious and intelligent historical romances showcasing a number of themes prevalent in Edwardian times. The Cornish Saga novels are about the themes of class conflict, chauvinism and autocratic rule in the family, suffragist movements, local prejudices and family secrets. The combination results in narratives that are a simple and sweet exposition of early twentieth century England, and how it reacted to the vagaries of increased globalization and spread of ideas.

Writing as Rosemary Rowe, she wrote the Libertus, Mystery of Roman Britain series. The series of novels are about a former slave turned mosaicist who uses his excellent knowledge and fascination with patterns and puzzles to resolve a range of murder mysteries. Libertus works for Marcus Septimus who was formerly his owner and now turned benefactor. In the first novel of the series Germanicus Mosaic, Libertus follows the trail of a murderer that had killed a retired centurion. In narratives that have received much praise for their historical accuracy, the novels portray the life of Roman Britain in lively detail. In The Chariots of Calyx, the author has the lead investigator investigate the death of prominent dealer of Londinium who had been found murdered by strangulation. His investigations often see him involved in a range of different situations and dealing with dangerous people who think nothing of killing. What sets the novels apart is that Rosemary Atkins inserts fascinating historical context into his clues to make for some of the most adventurous and exciting of historical mysteries.

%d bloggers like this: