Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys is an American author of historical fiction. She was awarded the Rockefeller Foundation’s prestigious Bellagio Fellowship for her studies on human resilience and her books have won or been nominated for numerous books. One of her greatest awards was earning the Cross of the Knight of the Order by the President of Lithuania for her contributions to education and memory preservation and even getting a stamp with her picture on it.

Ruta was born in Michigan as the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Her family was filled with artists, readers, and music lovers who encouraged her artistic side from an early age. She has had a lifelong fascination with history and has used her novels to help give voices to some of the underrepresented parts of it.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:

Between Shades of Gray(2011)
Out of the Easy(2013)
Salt to the Sea(2016)
The Fountains of Silence(2019)
I Must Betray You(2022)
%d bloggers like this: