S.J. Perelman

Sidney Joseph “S.J.” Perelman (February 1, 1904 – October 17, 1979) was an American humorist and screenwriter. He is best known for his humorous short pieces written over many years for The New Yorker. He also wrote for several other magazines, including Judge, as well as books, scripts, and screenplays. Perelman received an Academy Award for screenwriting in 1956.

Books in order of publication:

Books by S.J. Perelman

Dawn Ginsbergh’s Revenge (1929)

Parlor, Bedlam and Bath (with Quentin Reynolds) (1930)

Strictly from Hunger (1937)

Look Who’s Talking! (1940)

The Dream Department (1943)

Crazy Like a Fox (1944)

Keep It Crisp (1946)

Acres and Pains (1947)

The Best of S.J. Perelman (1947)

Westward Ha! (1948)

Listen to the Mockingbird (1949)

The Swiss Family Perelman (1950)

A Child’s Garden of Curses (UK) (1951)

The Ill-Tempered Clavichord (1952)

Hold that Christmas Tiger (UK) (1954)

Perelman’s Home Companion (1955)

The Road to Miltown or Under the Spreading Atrophy (1957)

The Most of S.J. Perelman (collection of re-printed pieces) (1958)

The Rising Gorge (1961)

The Beauty Part (1961)

Chicken Inspector No. 23 (1966)

Baby, It’s Cold Inside (1970)

Vinegar Puss (1975)

Eastward Ha! (1977)

The Last Laugh (1981)

That Old Gang O’ Mine (1984)

Don’t Tread on Me: Selected Letters of S.J. Perelman (1987)

Conversations with S.J. Perelman (1995)

The World of S.J. Perelman (UK reprinted pieces) (2000)

%d bloggers like this: