Samuel R. Delany

Samuel R. Delany is an American author of fiction. He was born in New York City on April 1, 1942. His middle name is Ray and some of his friends call him by his unofficial nickname Chip. He is a published writer that generally writes in the genre of science fiction. His writing has won several awards and appeared on film several times as himself and once acting in a short.

Delany was raised in Harlem by his mother and father. They were a prominent black family that lived on the top two floors of a private house of three stories. His mother worked as a library clerk in the public libraries of New York City. His father ran a funeral home in Harlem that did well and ran from 1938 until he passed in 1960. Delany based some of his characters on his aunts s in Atlantis: Model 1924, a novella.

He went to the Dalton school and later the High School of Science in the Bronx. There he was selected to get the opportunity to go through an international program for summer scholarship at Camp Rising Sun. In high school he dated Marilyn Hacker, a poet. In 1961, they were married. They had a daughter in 1974 named Iva. Their marriage endured for nineteen years. Iva went on to work in New York City in theater.

He became a published author by twenty years old and between 1962 and the following six years was able to write and publish nine novels in the science fiction genre and short stories that won prizes and awards. One of his first science fiction novels published was in 1965 and was called The Ballad of Beta-2. He would spend much of the seventies and early eighties working on his series, Return to Neveron.

He was the subject of a documentary film that premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival in 2007. The film was titled The Polymath. He has taught at several universities, including comparative literature at the University of Massachusetts Amherst and English at the University of Buffalo and Temple University.

Delany has also enjoyed several guest professorship positions visiting at colleges and universities. He has also written extensively on his life as a writer that is also dyslexic, black, and gay. His autobiography won a Hugo Award. He has also written several books that include interviews, stories, criticisms, and interviews.

He is the author of the fictional Fall of the Towers series. The series kicked off in 1963 with the release of the debut sci-fi novel, which was originally called Captives of the Flame but then was switched over to the alternate title, Out of the Dead City. Delany followed that up with a sequel that hit bookshelves just one year later. It was titled The Towers of Toron. The series was turned into an official trilogy with the release of the final book in Delany’s trilogy, which was titled The City of a Thousand Suns.

Out of the Dead City is the exciting first science fiction novel in Samuel R. Delany’s exciting Towers series! Check out the debut novel that kicked everything off and made several readers life-long fans of Delany’s work. This is a science fiction novel like no other.

The book was originally written in 1963 as Captives of the Flame but was rewritten and polished up and given this new title for the release in 1968, as it is a different work after being edited and changed. The stories were originally set in the same world as another book he wrote that was titled The Jewels of Aptor. He changed that later so that the series would be unconnected and be set in Earth (post-holocaust).

In ‘Dead City’, the reader encounters a planet that is totally unknown but is home to a radiation barrier. There are two sides. One plays host to the human beings, which are reminded of a war that went on. The other is a dead city that glimmers. In this kingdom is a king that has grown weak as well as a potential heir to the throne that will keep everything in life.

But when the prince is taken and a kidnapping is on, the civilization is galvanized enough to declare war on the people beyond the barrier. Things seem like they are moving swiftly, but one individual’s situation may be enough to begin turning things around. One man has the strange gift of having a body structure that can be crystallized enough to withstand radiation.

He may be resistant to the powerful radiation that pours out from the barrier. The powers also let him become nearly see-through in the light. His gifts may just be what allows them to get through the barrier– not for the purpose of waging war, but for the purpose of stopping it once and for all.

Can he lead a group of people with him to shut down the battle, or is it far too late for that? You’re going to have to check out Dead City by this acclaimed author to find out for yourself in this stunning debut of this engaging science fiction series!

The Towers of Toron is the second installment in the Towers series. If you loved the first novel in this fun sci-fi series, you are bound to enjoy this creative sequel. Check out the final book in this series if you liked these two as well!

When the population of Earth drove the Lord of the Flames out and across the galaxy, they thought that they had settled the matter once and for all. However, when they receive a warning that he has returned to Earth and is on the move once again, things look grim. If the news is true, his return means that Earth is at risk of plunging into chaos.

The Lord is evil that does not have physical substance and needs to be warm in strange ways. His arrival threatens the entire planet and the people that live on it. But will he back down, or does evil refuse to take a day off? You are going to have to check out this classic science fiction novel and read to the end to find out!

Books in order of publication by series:

Fall Of The Towers Books

Captives of the Flame(1963) 
The Towers of Toron(1964) 
The City of a Thousand Suns(1965) 

Neveryon Books

Tales of Neveryon(1975) 
Flight from Neveryon(1978) 
The Bridge of Lost Desire(1987) 

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ballad of Beta-2(1965) 
The Einstein Intersection(1967) 
The Tides of Lust(1973) 
Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand(1985) 
They Fly at Ciron(1993) 
The Mad Man(1994) 
Dark Reflections(2007) 
Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders(2011) 

Short Stories/Novellas

The Jewels of Aptor(1962) 
Empire Star(1966) 
We, in Some Strange Power’s Employ, Move on a Rigorous Line(1990) 
Bread and Wine(1999) 

Short Story Collections

Aye, and Gomorrah(1967) 
Distant Stars(1981) 
The Complete Nebula Award-Winning Fiction(1986) 
Driftglass / Starshards(1993) 
The Mad Man: Or, The Mysteries of Manhattan(2015) 

Non-Fiction Books

The Jewel-Hinged Jaw(1977) 
The American Shore(1978) 
Heavenly Breakfast(1979) 
Times Square Red, Times Square Blue(1983) 
Starboard Wine(1984) 
The Straits of Messina(1986) 
The Motion of Light in Water(1988) 
Silent Interviews(1994) 
Longer Views(1996) 
Shorter Views(2000) 
Black Gay Man(2001) 
About Writing(2006) 
The Atheist in the Attic(2018)
%d bloggers like this: