Sarah Bradford

Sarah Mary Malet Bradford (née Hayes; born 3 September 1938) is an English author who is best known for her royal biographies.

Books in order of publication:


Cesare Borgia (1976)

The Borgias (with John Prebble) (1981)

Disraeli (1982)

Princess Grace (1984)

George VI, Weidenfeld and Nicolson, London, 1989

The Reluctant King (American version of George VI)

Sacheverell Sitwell. Splendours and Miseries (1993)

Elizabeth: A Biography of Britain’s Queen (1996); according to WorldCat, the book is in over 1760 libraries

America’s Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (2000); according to WorldCat, the book is in over 1650 libraries

Lucrezia Borgia: Life, Love and Death in Renaissance Italy, Viking, 2004,

Diana, Penguin Group, London, 2006,

Queen Elizabeth II: Her Life in Our Times, Penguin, London, 2011

Other books

The Englishman’s Wine: The Story of Port (1969)

Portugal and Madeira (1969)

Portugal (1973)

%d bloggers like this: