Sarah Manguso

Sarah Manguso (born 1974) is an American writer and poet. In 2007, she was awarded the Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize Fellowship in literature by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Her memoir The Two Kinds of Decay (2008), was named an “Editors’ Choice” title by the New York Times Sunday Book Review and a 2008 “Best Nonfiction Book of the Year” by the San Francisco Chronicle. Her book Ongoingness: The End of a Diary (2015) was also named a New York Times “Editors’ Choice.” Her debut novel, Very Cold People, was published by Penguin in 2022.

Books in order of publication:


Very Cold People (Penguin, 2022)

300 Arguments (Graywolf, 2017)

Ongoingness: The End of a Diary (Graywolf, 2015)

The Guardians: An Elegy (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2012)

The Two Kinds of Decay (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2008)

Hard to Admit and Harder to Escape (McSweeney’s Books, 2007)


Siste Viator (Four Way Books, 2006)

The Captain Lands in Paradise (Alice James Books, 2002)

%d bloggers like this: