Saul Bellow

Saul Bellow (born Solomon Bellows; 10 June 1915 – 5 April 2005) was a Canadian American writer. For his literary work, Bellow was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, the Nobel Prize for Literature, and the National Medal of Arts. He is the only writer to win the National Book Award for Fiction three times and he received the National Book Foundation’s lifetime Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 1990.

Books in order of publication:

Novels and novellas

Dangling Man (1944)

The Victim (1947)

The Adventures of Augie March (1953), National Book Award for Fiction

Seize the Day (1956)

Henderson the Rain King (1959)

Herzog (1964), National Book Award

Mr. Sammler’s Planet (1970), National Book Award

Humboldt’s Gift (1975), winner of the 1976 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

The Dean’s December (1982)

More Die of Heartbreak (1987)

A Theft (1989)

The Bellarosa Connection (1989)

The Actual (1997)

Ravelstein (2000)

Short story collections

Mosby’s Memoirs and Other Stories (1968)

Him with His Foot in His Mouth and Other Stories (1984)

Something to Remember Me By: Three Tales (1991)

Collected Stories (2001)


The Last Analysis (1965)


To Jerusalem and Back (1976), memoir

It All Adds Up (1994), essay collection

Saul Bellow: Letters, edited by Benjamin Taylor (2010), correspondence

There Is Simply Too Much To Think About (Viking, 2015), collection of shorter non-fiction pieces

%d bloggers like this: