Sharon Olds

Sharon Olds (born November 19, 1942) is an American poet. Olds won the first San Francisco Poetry Center Award in 1980, the 1984 National Book Critics Circle Award, and the 2013 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. She teaches creative writing at New York University and is a previous director of the Creative Writing Program at NYU.

Books in order of publication:


Satan Says. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press. 1980.

The Dead and the Living. New York: Knopf. 1984.

1987 The Gold Cell, Knopf

1987 The Matter of This World, Slow Dancer Press

1991 The Sign of Saturn, Secker & Warburg

1992 The Father, Secker & Warburg

1996 The Wellspring, Knopf

1999 Blood, Tin, Straw, Knopf

2002 The Unswept Room, Tandem Library

2004 Strike Sparks: Selected Poems 1980–2002, Knopf

2008 One Secret Thing, Random House

2012 Stag’s Leap, Knopf

2016 Odes, Knopf

2017 Penguin Modern Poets 3: Your Family, Your Body by Malika Booker, Sharon Olds, Warsan Shire. Penguin.

2019 Arias Penguin Random House

%d bloggers like this: