Shirley Hazzard

Shirley Hazzard (30 January 1931 – 12 December 2016) was an Australian-American novelist, short story writer, and essayist. She was born in Australia and also held United States citizenship.

Hazzard’s 1970 novel, The Bay of Noon, was shortlisted for the Lost Man Booker Prize in 2010; her 2003 novel The Great Fire won the U.S. National Book Award for Fiction, the Miles Franklin Award and the William Dean Howells Medal. Hazzard also wrote non-fiction, including two books based on her experiences working at the United Nations Secretariat, which were highly critical of the organization.

Books in order of publication:


  • The Evening of the Holiday (1966)
  • The Bay of Noon (1970), shortlisted for the Lost Man Booker Prize
  • The Transit of Venus (1980), winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction
  • The Great Fire (2003), winner of the National Book Award for fiction and the Miles Franklin Award

Short story collections

  • Cliffs of Fall and Other Stories (1963)
  • People in Glass Houses (1967)


  • Defeat of an Ideal: A Study of the Self-destruction of the United Nations (1973)
  • Coming of Age in Australia (1985)
  • Countenance of Truth: The United Nations and the Waldheim Case (1990)
  • Greene on Capri: A Memoir (2000)
  • The Ancient Shore: Dispatches from Naples (2008) (with Francis Steegmuller)
  • We Need Silence to Find Out What We Think: Selected Essays (2016)
%d bloggers like this: