Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow (born 3 October 1962) is a British author. Scarrow completed a master’s degree at the University of East Anglia after working at the Inland Revenue, and then went into teaching as a lecturer, firstly at East Norfolk Sixth Form College, then at City College Norwich.

He is best known for his Eagles of the Empire series of Roman military fiction set in the territories of the Roman Empire, covering the second invasion of Britain and the subsequent prolonged campaign undertaken by the rump of the Julio-Claudian dynasty. As of December 2019, there are 18 books in the series; the latest, “Traitors of Rome”, was published in 2019.

He has also written another series, Revolution, focusing on Wellington and Napoleon, whose first title, Young Bloods, was published in 2006. The second volume, The Generals, was released on 31 May 2007 and the third volume Fire and Sword was released in January 2009. The fourth and final novel of the series was released in Jun 2010 and is called The Fields of Death. He began publishing a new series in 2011 titled Gladiator.

Books in order of publication:

Under the Eagle (2000)

The Eagle’s Conquest (2001)

When the Eagle Hunts (2002)

The Eagle and the Wolves (2003)

The Eagle’s Prey (2004)

The Eagle’s Prophecy (2005)

The Eagle in the Sand (2006)

Centurion (2007)

The Gladiator (2009)

The Legion (2010)

Blood Debt (2009, short story)

Praetorian (2011)

The Blood Crows (2013)

Brothers in Blood (2014)

Britannia (2015)

Invictus (2016)

Day of the Caesars (2017)

The Blood of Rome (2018)

Traitors of Rome (2019)

The Emperor’s Exile (2020)

Revolution series

The Revolution Quartet centres upon the lives of Napoleon Bonaparte and Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington. The first book in the quartet starts in 1769 and follows the two young men through their youth and on to their military careers.

Young Bloods (2006)

The Generals (2007)

Fire and Sword (2009)

The Fields of Death (2010)

Gladiator series

The Gladiator series is aimed at the young adult audience, unlike his Eagle series.

Gladiator: Fight for Freedom (2011)

Gladiator: Street Fighter (2012)

Gladiator: Son of Spartacus (2013)

Gladiator: Vengeance (2014)

Roman Arena series (with T. J. Andrews)

Also acts as something of a prequel to the Eagle series as it features an earlier appearance of both characters Macro and Narcissus.

Arena (2013)

Barbarian (2012)

Challenger (2012)

First Sword (2013)

Revenge (2013)

Champion (2013)

Invader series (with T. J. Andrews)

Invader (2016)

Death Beach (2014)

Blood Enemy (2014)

Dark Blade (2014)

Imperial Agent (2015)

Sacrifice (2015)

Pirata series (with T. J. Andrews)

Pirata (2019)

The Black Flag (2019)

The Gates of Stone (2019)

Hunters of the Sea (2019)

Sea of Blood (2019)

The Pirate Chief (2019)

Stand-alone novels

The following are books which are either stand-alone novels or have yet to be confirmed as parts of a series.

The Sword and the Scimitar (2012) — covers the Great Siege of Malta

Hearts of Stone (2015) — covers WWII period Greek island of Lefkas

Playing With Death with Lee Francis (2018) — Crime story

Blackout — covers WWII period Germany

%d bloggers like this: