Sir John Rupert Colville

Sir John Rupert Colville, CB, CVO (28 January 1915 – 19 November 1987), known as Jock Colville, was a British civil servant. He is best known for his diaries, which provide an intimate view of number 10 Downing Street during the wartime Premiership of Winston Churchill.

Books in order of publication:

Fools’ Pleasure, 1935

Action This Day-Working with Churchill, 1968

Man of Valour: Field Marshal Lord Gort V.C., 1972

Footprints in Time, 1976

The New Elizabethans, 1977

The Portrait of a General, 1980

The Churchillians, 1981

Strange Inheritance, 1983

The Fringes of Power: 10 Downing Street Diaries 1939–1955, 1985

Those Lambtons!, 1988 (released posthumously)

%d bloggers like this: