Sir Roy Colin Strong

Sir Roy Colin Strong, CH, FRSL (born 23 August 1935) is an English art historian, museum curator, writer, broadcaster and landscape designer. He has served as director of both the National Portrait Gallery and the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. Strong was knighted in 1982.

Books in order of publication:


 Portraits of Queen Elizabeth I (Clarendon Press, London, 1963)

Leicester’s Triumph (Leiden: Leiden University Press, and Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1965), with J. A. van Dorsten.

 The English Icon (Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art, London, 1969)

Tudor & Jacobean Portraits in the National Portrait Gallery (Her Majesty’s Stationery Office, London, 1969)

Nicholas Hilliard (Michael Joseph Ltd, London, 1975)

The Renaissance Garden in England (London, 1979)

Artists of the Tudor Court: The Portrait Miniature Rediscovered 1520–1620 (V&A Publishing, London, 1983)

Creating Small Gardens (Conran Octopus, London, 1986)

A Small Garden Designer’s Handbook (Conran Octopus, London, 1987)

Henry Prince of Wales & England’s Lost Renaissance (Thames & Hudson, London, 1986)

 Lost Treasures of Britain: Five Centuries of Creation and Destruction (Viking Press, London, 1990)

The Tudor and Stuart Monarchy: Pageantry, Painting, Iconography, Vol. 1 (The Boydell Press, 1990)

 A Country Life: At Home in the English Countryside (illustrated by Julia Trevelyan Oman) (St Martin’s Press, 1994)

William Larkin: Icons of Splendor (Franco Maria Ricci, 1995)

 Country Life, 1897–1997: The English Arcadia (1996)

 The Tudor and Stuart Monarchy: Pageantry, Painting, Iconography, Vol. 2: Elizabethan (The Boydell Press, 1996)

The Roy Strong Diaries 1967–1987 (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1997)

The Tudor and Stuart Monarchy: Pageantry, Painting, Iconography, Vol. 3: Jacobean and Caroline (The Boydell Press, 1997)

 The Story of Britain: A People’s History (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1998)

The Cult of Elizabeth: Elizabethan Portraiture and Pageantry (Thames & Hudson, 1977)

 The Spirit of Britain: A Narrative History of the Arts (Jonathan Cape, 1999)

The Artist & the Garden (Yale University Press (Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art), 2000)

Gardens Through the Ages (Conran Octopus, 2000)

Feast: A History of Grand Eating (Jonathan Cape, 2002)

Gloriana: The Portraits of Queen Elizabeth I (Thames & Hudson, London, 1987)

The Laskett: The Story of a Garden (Transworld, 2004)

Beaton Portraits (with Terence Pepper and Peter Conrad) (Yale University Press, 2004)

Coronation: A History of Kingship and the British Monarchy (HarperCollins, 2005)

Passions Past and Present (Pimlico, 2005)

A Little History of the English Country Church (Random House, 2007)

Remaking a Garden: The Laskett Transformed (Frances Lincoln Publishers, 2014)

The Roy Strong Diaries 1987–2003 (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2017)

%d bloggers like this: