Stanislaw Lem

Stanislaw Lem was one of the most respected science fiction authors that did not come from an English-speaking country. He is best known for the likes of “Solaris” “The Cyberia” and “Tales of Pirx the Pilot.” Offering deep commentaries on the human condition, he was more than just a storyteller as he was deemed a futurist and forward-looking thinker that put forth his thoughts in a satirical tone. His work was very different in content and style from that of his contemporaries in the West as it was shaped by the influence of the place and time, he lived in.

Books in order of publication:

From the Memoirs of Ijon Tichy Books

The Star Diaries aka Memoirs of a Space Traveler(1957) 
Memoirs Found in a Bathtub(1961) 
The Futurological Congress(1971) 
Peace on Earth(1987) 

Standalone Novels

Hospital of the Transfiguration(1955) 
The Investigation(1958) 
Return from the Stars(1961) 
The Invincible(1964) 
His Master’s Voice(1968) 
Imaginary Magnitude(1973) 
The Chain of Chance(1976) 

Short Stories/Novellas

The Seventh Voyage(2019) 


Tales of Pirx the Pilot(1961) 
Mortal Engines(1964) 
The Cyberiad(1965) 
More Tales of Pirx the Pilot(1968) 
A Perfect Vacuum(1971) 
The Cosmic Carnival(1981) 
One Human Minute(1986) 
The Three Electroknights(2018) 
The Truth and Other Stories(2021) 

Non-Fiction Books

Summa Technologiae(1964) 


Spells of Enchantment: The Wondrous Fairy Tales of Western Culture(1991) 
The Wesleyan Anthology of Science Fiction(2010) 
%d bloggers like this: