Sue Monk Kidd

Sue Monk Kidd is one of the noteworthy authors of America who has written numerous successful novels based on the Fiction and Memoir genres. She hails from the Southern United States and is particularly well known for her novel title ‘The Secret Life of Bees’.

Sue Monk was born on August 12, 1948 in Sylvester, Georgia, United States, and completed her schooling by attending local schools. Later, she went on to graduate from the Texas Christian University with a B.S. Degree in Nursing in the year 1970. After that, she began working as a Registered Nurse and has continued doing it throughout her life. Other than that, she has also worked as a college nursing instructor at the Georgia Medical College.

When author Sue Monk was in her twenties, she was influenced by the writings of the author Thomas Merton. By reading the novels written by him, Sue Monk began exploring the inner life of herself.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

The Secret Life of Bees(2001) 
The Mermaid Chair(2004) 
The Invention of Wings(2014) 
The Book of Longings(2020) 

Non-Fiction Books

God’s Joyful Surprise: Finding Yourself Loved(1987) 
This Is the Day(1987) 
All Things Are Possible(1988) 
When the Heart Waits: Spiritual Direction for Life’s Sacred Questions(1990) 
Love’s Hidden Blessings: God Can Touch Your Life When You Least Expect It(1990) 
The Dance of the Dissident Daughter: A Woman’s Journey from Christian Tradition to the Sacred Feminine(1996) 
A Luminous Presence: One Woman’s Awakening to the Inner Life(2005) 
Firstlight: The Early Inspirational Writings of Sue Monk Kidd(2006) 
Traveling with Pomegranates: A Mother and Daughter Journey to the Sacred Places of Greece, Turkey, and France(2009) 
Business Opportunities at Home: How to Start and Maintain Home Based Business(2014) 
The Spiritual Sampler(2016)
%d bloggers like this: