Sven Nordqvist

Sven Nordqvist (born 30 April 1946) is a Swedish writer and illustrator of children’s books. He is best known for his series Pettson and Findus, about an old farmer, Pettson, and his talented cat, Findus.

Nordqvist was born in Helsingborg and grew up in Halmstad, Sweden. He originally wanted to be an illustrator but was rejected by several art schools. Instead, he studied architecture at Lund Institute of Technology, and worked for a time there as a lecturer in architecture. At the same time, he continued to look for work as an illustrator working on advertisements, posters, and picture books. In 1983 he won first prize in a children’s book competition and since then has worked exclusively as an author and illustrator of children’s books.

Books in order of publication:

Pancakes for Findus – 1984

Findus and the Fox – 1986

When Findus was Little and Disappeared – 2001

Where Is My Sister? – 2011

Findus at Christmas – 2020

Findus Hunts for Pettson – 2020

%d bloggers like this: