Sy Montgomery

Sy Montgomery (born February 7, 1958) is a German born, American naturalist, author and scriptwriter who writes for children as well as adults. She is author of 34 books, including The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness, which was a finalist for the 2015 National Book Award for Nonfiction and was on The New York Times Best Seller list. Her popular book The Good Good Pig, is the international bestselling memoir of life with her pig, Christopher Hogwood.

Books in order of publication:

For adults:

The Curious Naturalist: Nature’s Everyday Mysteries – 1991

Seasons of the Wild – 1995

Spell of the Tiger: The Man-eaters of the Sunderbans – 1995

Journey of the Pink Dolphins: An Amazon quest – 2000

Walking with the Great Apes – 2000

Search for the Golden Moon Bear: Science and Adventure in Pursuit of a New Species – 2002

The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood – 2007

Birdology – 2010

The Wild out of Your Window – 2012

The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness – 2015

How to Be a Good Creature: A Memoir in Thirteen Animals (A New York Times bestseller) – 2018

The Hummingbirds’ Gift: Wonder, Beauty, and Renewal on Wings – 2021

The Hawk’s Way: Encounters with Fierce Beauty – 2022

For children:

The Snake Scientist – 1999

The Man-Eating Tigers of Sundarbans – 2001

Encantado: Pink Dolphin of the Amazon – 2002

The Tarantula Scientist – 2004

Quest for the Tree Kangaroo: An Expedition to the Cloud Forest of New Guinea – 2006

Saving the Ghost of the Mountain: An Expedition among Snow Leopards in Mongolia – 2009

Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot – 2010

Temple Grandin: How the Girl Who Loved Cows Embraced Autism and Changed the World – 2012

Snowball the Dancing Cockatoo – 2013

The Tapir Scientist: Saving South America’s Largest Mammal – 2013

Chasing Cheetahs: The Race to Save Africa’s Fastest Cat – 2014

The Octopus Scientists: Exploring the Mind of a Mollusk – 2015

The Great White Shark Scientist – 2016

Amazon Adventure – 2017

The Hyena Scientist – 2018

Inky’s Amazing Escape: How a Very Smart Octopus Found His Way Home – 2018

The Magnificent Migration: On Safari With Africa’s last Great herds – 2019

Becoming A Good Creature – 2020

Condor Comeback -2020

The Seagull And The Sea Captain – 2022

%d bloggers like this: