Sylvia Bishop

Sylvia Bishop spent an entire childhood reading fiction, dreaming up stories and pretending. She then tried very hard to get to grips with the real world by studying politics and going in to social science research. This was a shock. Thankfully, she discovered improvised comedy at university, which allowed her to carry on making up stories for at least 30% of her waking hours.

Now she writes her stories down, preferably by lamplight with tea. She only ever really writes the bad ones: the good ones write themselves without warning, generally when she was planning to go to bed.

Sylvia now lives in London, where she continues to work in research, and is one half of improvised comedy duo the Peablossom Cabaret. Her first book for young readers, Erica’s Elephant, was published by Scholastic in 2016, followed by The Bookshop Girl in April 2017. Sylvia’s third novel, The Secret of the Night Train, is out now.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:

Erica’s Elephant – 2016

The Bookshop Girl – 2017

The Secret of the Night Train – 2018

Trouble in New York – 2019

A Sea Of Stories – 2019

44 tiny acrobats – 2020

%d bloggers like this: