Tessa Hadley

Tessa Jane Hadley FRSL (born 28 February 1956; née Nichols) is a British author, who writes novels, short stories and nonfiction. Her writing is realistic and often focuses on family relationships.

Her novels have twice reached the long lists of the Orange Prize and the Wales Book of the Year, and in 2016, she won the Hawthornden Prize, as well as one of the Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes for fiction. The Windham-Campbell judges describe her as “one of English’s finest contemporary writers” and state that her writing “brilliantly illuminates ordinary lives with extraordinary prose that is superbly controlled, psychologically acute, and subtly powerful.” As of 2016, she is professor of creative writing at Bath Spa University.

Books in order of publication:

Henry James and the Imagination of Pleasure (2002)

Accidents in the Home – 2002

Everything Will Be All Right – 2003

The Master Bedroom – 2007

The London Train – 2011

Clever Girl – 2013

The Past – 2015

Late in the Day (2019)

Free Love (2022)

Short Story collections:

Legends of the Sun and Moon (1983), with Eric Hadley

Legends of Earth, Air, Fire and Water (1985), with Eric Hadley

Sunstroke and Other Stories (2007)

Married Love and Other Stories (2013)

Bad Dreams and Other Stories (2017)

%d bloggers like this: