Tove Jansson

Tove Jansson was a reputed novelist, illustrator, painter, visual artist, comic strip writer, and author from Finland, who used to speak and write in Swedish. She was particularly popular for her children’s book series called the Moomin series, which were initially written in Finnish and Swedish and later translated for the English readers.

Books in order of publication:

Moonmintroll Books

The Moomins and the Great Flood(1945) 
Comet in Moominland(1946) 
Finn Family Moomintroll(1950) 
The Exploits of Moominpappa(1952) 
Moominsummer Madness(1954) 
Moominland Midwinter(1958) 
Tales from Moominvalley(1963) 
Moominpappa at Sea(1966) 
Moominvalley in November(1970) 
Moomintrolls and Friends(1996) 
The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My(2009) 

Moomin Books

The Complete Tove Jansson Comic Strip(2010) 
Who Will Comfort Toffle?(1969) 
Moomin and Snufkin(1993) 
Moomin and the Little Dragon(1993) 
Moomin and the Magic Hat(1993) 
Moomin’s Invisible Friend(1993) 
Moomins Cookbook(2010) 
Moomin and the Birthday Button(2010) 
Moomin’s Brilliantly Busy Colouring Book(2010) 
Moomin’s Lift-the-flap Hide and Seek(2010) 
Moomin’s Little Book of Numbers(2010) 
Moomin’s Little Book of Words(2010) 
Moomin’s Splendid Summer Sticker Book(2010) 
Momminmamma’s Book of Thoughts(2010) 
Moomintroll’s Book of Thoughts(2010) 
Snufkin’s Book of Thoughts(2010) 
Little My’s Book of Thoughts(2011) 
Moominpappa’s Book of Thoughts(2011) 
Moomin and the Moonlight Adventure(2011) 
Moomin’s Little Book of Colours(2011) 
Moomin’s Little Book of Opposites(2011) 
Sniff’s Book of Thoughts(2011) 
Moomin and the Winter Snow(2011) 
Moomin’s Most Magical Pop-Up Book(2011) 
Moomin’s Secret Surprise Sticker Book(2011) 
Moomin’s Winter Follies(2012) 
Moominvalley Turns Jungle(2012) 
Moomin and the New Friend(2012) 
Moomin Builds a House(2013) 
Moomin Falls in Love(2013) 
Moomin and the Comet(2013) 
Moomin and the Sea(2013) 
Moomin and the Little Ghost(2013) 
Moomin and the Golden Tail(2014) 
Moomin’s Desert Island(2014) 
Moominvalley for the Curious Explorer(2014) 
Moomin on the Riviera(2014) 

Standalone Novels

Sculptor’s Daughter(1969) 
Sun City(1976) 
Dangerous Journey(1978) 
The Fillyjonk Who Believed in Disasters(1990) 
Fair Play(2007) 
The True Deceiver(2009) 


The Summer Book(1975) 
The Coal Man(1998) 
A Winter Book(2006) 
Travelling Light(2010) 
Art in Nature(2012) 
The Listener(2014)
%d bloggers like this: