Val McDermid

Val McDermid is a popular Scottish author who was born on June 04, 1955 in Fife, Scotland, United Kingdom. She is particularly famous for writing all her novels in the Mystery, crime and Thriller genres. She has written 4 different mystery novel series based on the lives of 4 main protagonists. Almost all the novels written by McDermid are widely popular all over the world because of her unique characterization of the characters of the novels and suspenseful plots. She has said in many interviews that she received a great motivation from the great writing works of the famous authors at the time when she started her writing career. These famous authors include Ian Rankin, James Lee Burke, Reginald Hill and Ruth Rendell.

Books in order of publication by series:

Lindsay Gordon Books

Report for Murder(1987) 
Common Murder(1989) 
Final Edition(1991) 
Union Jack(1993) 
Booked for Murder(1996) 
Hostage to Murder(2003) 

Kate Brannigan Books

Dead Beat(1992) 
Kick Back(1993) 
Crack Down(1994) 
Clean Break(1995) 
Blue Genes(1996) 
Star Struck(1998) 

Tony Hill/Carol Jordan Books

The Mermaids Singing(1995) 
The Wire in the Blood(1997) 
The Last Temptation(2002) 
The Torment of Others(2004) 
Beneath the Bleeding(2007) 
Fever of the Bone(2009) 
The Retribution(2011) 
Cross and Burn(2013) 
Splinter the Silence(2015) 
Insidious Intent(2017) 
How the Dead Speak(2019) 

Karen Pirie Books

The Distant Echo(2003) 
A Darker Domain(2008) 
The Skeleton Road(2014) 
Out of Bounds(2016) 
Broken Ground(2018) 
Still Life(2020)

Austen Project Books

Northanger Abbey(2014)

Standalone Novels

A Place of Execution(1999) 
Killing the Shadows(2000) 
The Grave Tattoo(2006) 
Trick of the Dark(2011) 
The Vanishing Point(2012) 

Short Stories/Novellas


Short Story Collections

The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories(1997) 
Naked Came the Phoenix(2001) 
Magnetic North: New Work from North East Writers(2005) 

Picture Books

My Granny is a Pirate(2012)

Non-Fiction Books

A Suitable Job For a Woman: The World of Female Private Investigators(1995)
Forensics: An Anatomy of Crime(2014)
%d bloggers like this: