Winston S. Churchill

Winston Churchill, in addition to his careers of soldier and politician, was a prolific writer under the pen name ‘Winston S. Churchill’. After being commissioned into the 4th Queen’s Own Hussars in 1895, Churchill gained permission to observe the Cuban War of Independence, and sent war reports to The Daily Graphic. He continued his war journalism in British India, at the Siege of Malakand, then in the Sudan during the Mahdist War and in southern Africa during the Second Boer War.

Churchill’s fictional output included one novel and a short story, but his main output comprised non-fiction. After he was elected as an MP, over 130 of his speeches or parliamentary answers were also published in pamphlets or booklets; many were subsequently published in collected editions. Churchill received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1953 “for his mastery of historical and biographical description as well as for brilliant oratory in defending exalted human values”.

The Story of the Malakand Field Force1898
Savrola: A Tale Of Revolution In Laurania1898
The River War1899
The Boer War (London to Ladysmith via Pretoria Ian Hamilton’s March)1900
My African Journey1908
The World Crisis, Volume I: 1911-19141923
The World Crisis, Volume II: 19151923
The World Crisis, Volume III: 1916-1918, Part I1923
The World Crisis, Volume IV: 1916-1918, Part II1927
The World Crisis, Volume IV: The Aftermath1929
My Early Life, 1874-19041930
The World Crisis, 1911-19181931
The World Crisis, Volume V: The Eastern Front1931
Great Contemporaries1932
Marlborough: His Life and Times Volume 11933
Marlborough: His Life and Times, Volume II1934
Marlborough: His Life and Times, Volume 31936
Marlborough: His Life and Times, Volume IV1938
Blood, Toil, Tears and Sweat: The Great Speeches1941
Marlborough: His Life and Times, Book One1947
Marlborough: His Life and Times, Book Two1947
The Gathering Storm1948
The Second World War1948
Memoirs of the Second World War1948
Painting as a Pastime1948
Their Finest Hour1949
The Grand Alliance1950
The Hinge of Fate1950
Closing the Ring1951
Triumph and Tragedy1953
The Birth of Britain1956
The New World1956
The Age of Revolution1957
The Great Democracies1958
The Great Republic: A History of America1958
The Island Race1964
Never Give In!: The Best of Winston Churchill’s Speeches1967
Marlborough: His Life And Times1968
Liberalism and the Social Problem: A Collection of Early Speeches as a Member of Parliament1972
The American Civil War1987
Speaking For Themselves: The Private Letters Of Sir Winston And Lady Churchill1998
The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill2001
The Second World War: Milestones to Disaster2002
London to Ladysmith via Pretoria2005
The Second World War: Alone2008
Thoughts and Adventures: Churchill Reflects on Spies, Cartoons, Flying, and the Future2009
Churchill’s Wit: The Definitive Collection2009
We Will All Go Down Fighting to the End2010
Churchill: The Power of Words2012
The World Crisis, Vol. 3 Part 1 and Part 2 (Winston Churchill’s World Crisis Collection)2013
The Second World War: Triumph and Tragedy2014
%d bloggers like this: